The Rebirth Octet play the music of Miles Davis’ “The Birth Of The Cool”

Date: Thursday, October 13, 2022
Time: 7:30 PM
Location: Wagner Hall, Brighton
Brighton Fringe 2022 | The Re-Birth Octet

Doors at 7.30pm, music from 8pm.

“Chris Coull and the Rebirth Octet’s rendition of Miles Davis’ 1957 album ‘Birth of the Cool’ is far from just a note-for-note recreation.” Ivan Hewett – Daily Telegraph.

The Rebirth Octet was formed in 2021 by Brighton based musician Chris Coull. Taking the original 78rpm compositions by Miles, Gill Evans and Jerry Mulligan the music has been extended into more substantial charts that feature each of the Octet’s personnel, whilst staying true to the ensemble colour and harmony so distinctive of this seminal album which saw the dawn of the cool-school / West coast jazz era of the 1950’s.
Two of the UK’s finest exponents of modern jazz in Andy Panayi (alto saxophone) and Jim Rattigan (French horn) together with Chris Coull on trumpet lead the top end of these lush harmonic jazz tunes. They are complimented by the lower end of the horn section in Michael Pilley (trombone), Bob McKay (baritone sax) and Gabriel Garrick (sousaphone). Finishing off the group is a two-piece rhythm section of George Trebar (bass) and young gun Joe Edwards (drums).

or Cash / Card on the day (subject to availability)

  • Mike, Bob, Gabriel and George
  • Andy, Chris, Jim and Mike
  • Mike Pilley trombone
  • Jim and Chris
  • Chris Coull
  • Jim, Chris and Andy
  • George and Joe
  • Gabriel and George
  • Mike and Bob
  • Gabriel and George
  • Mike and Bob
  • Bob, Gabriel and George
  • Jim Rattigan horn
  • Re-Birth Octet
  • Jim and Chris
  • Chris Coull trumpet
  • Andy Panayi sax
  • Chris, Bob and Gabriel
  • Andy, Chris and Jim
  • Re-Birth Octet