Skip to content

Jazz at St Andrews

    Our new program for winter 2023 is here. Really exciting times as we welcome some world class musicains on Friday evenings at 6pm;

    Friday Nov 10th
    Chris Coull Big Band ‘An Evolution In Swing’.
    Charting the development of the jazz orchestra from Ellington’s ‘jungle’ music of the 1920’s, Basie’s 1930’s Kansas style, 40’s war time swing through to 1950’s modernism and beyond. Featuring classics from Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Glen Miller and Charlie Barnett. With Lucy Pickering (vocals) Gabriel Garrick and Chris Coull (trumpets) Andy Panayi (alto sax), Mike Pilley (trombone)
    Terry Seabrook (piano) Rhys Lovell (bass) and Peter Cater (drums).

    Friday Nov 17th
    The Re-Birth Octet, playing Miles Davis’ “The Birth Of The Cool”
    Recorded in the late 1940’s. The original compositions by Miles, Gil Evans and Gerry Mulligan feature some unusual instrumentation; French horn (Jim Rattingan) Sousaphone (Gabriel Garrick) in addition to the familiar voices of Alto and Baritone sax (Andy Panayi / Bob McKay) bass (George Trebar) drums (Joe Edwards) and of course trumpet! (Chris Coull).

    Friday Nov 24th
    Terry Seabrook’s “Kind Of Blue”,
     Arguably the most influential and best selling jazz album of all time, Mile Davis’ timeless classic; ‘Kind Of Blue’ has captivated listeners since it’s recording in 1959. Join pianist, Terry Seabrook and his sextet as they take you on a journey through this album and other classics from Miles Davis’ classic 50’s period. Featuring top UK saxophonists Josephine Davies and Andy Panayi plus Chris Coull (trumpet), Paul Whitten (bass) and Alex Pitt (drums)

    Friday Dec 1st
    Alex Bondono’s ‘Water From An Ancient Well’ – The music of Abdullah Ibrahim
     Reeds man Alex Bondonno’s sextet performs a tribute to composer and pianist Abdullah Ibrahim. A unique musical voice from South Africa, the band perform Ibrahim’s classic standards, plus interpretations and new arrangements of his music. Featuring trombonist Mark Bassey who will lead the audience through the musical story of Ibrahim’s life from the streets of Cape Town to his role in the fight against apartheid, and journey to becoming a world-renowned jazz musician.   

    Friday Dec 8th
    Jazz At St. Andrews; Christmas Special
     Come and join us for an end of year chin-dig where we feature the best of this year’s musical festivities at St Andrews church! Featuring many of the musicians who have performed over the past 12 months, there will be some jazz standards and special swinging treatment for a few Christmas songs. (Mince pies and mulled wine on offer too!) A chance to round off another remarkable year of great music, community support and fund raising; we hope to see you all there.